6 Degrees of Connection

0c697c4007fabe8e677d1166050b1981

Frigyes Karinthy came up with this notion that everyone is connected to every other person in six or fewer steps. I always found this to be untrue as most of us in this age with our busy schedule don’t even know their neighbours. This was until a month ago. 

In late June 2016, I had become a part of a group of likeminded members on WhatsApp and Facebook. I was introduced to the group by a friend who was introduced to that group and so on. We have member from over 5 cities in India and 3 countries around the world. And I didn’t think forging a relationship with any of them was even a possibility let alone making friends for life. But boy was I wrong. We call it the SOUL FAMILY. Because we are connected not just by some common person but also by our thoughts and by our characters and by our very soul. Because with this group of strangers I found home, a place where I could bare my soul and not get judged, a place where someone has gone through what you have and is readily available for advice or just to listen. 

And then the magic gets even more better when you click with someone online, someone you have never met and then you meet them for the first time and its 1000 times better. I made a friend here who I was looking forward to meet and when I met her our friendship was forged for life. Now I can truly say I’ve someone I can count on. No matter what. And what’s better, I introduced her to another friend of mine and they have now become kindred spirits. This idea of one person connecting to another is called 6 degree of separations but I call it 6 degree of connection. 

My soul family is half online transactions and half real life. Real life connections are a lot stronger. I believe you are meant to meet the people that you meet in life. My Munchkin is one such person. Total random stranger and a meeting of 7 hours and now he has become one of the most important people in my life. 

Everything is connected in a molecular level in life. Spiritual to Scientific. And if a person can’t find these connections then the meaning of life becomes void. For why are you on this earth if not to forge connections, to learn and to help and be helped in this motion of life. 

So find your next connection and another connection and grow more in life. If you can light up one person your purpose in life is set. 

TO MY SOUL FAMILY, WITH ALL THE GOOD AND BAD, I’M THANKFUL FOR YOU, BECAUSE YOU HELPED ME COME OUT OF MY COCOON AND LEARN AND FLY AND SPREAD JOY. I HOPE TO DO THAT EVERYDAY FOR EVERY ONE OF YOU IN RETURN. 

TO MUNCHKIN WHO MAKES MY LIFE COME ALIVE. I MAY HAVE SURVIVED MY LIFE WITHOUT YOU. BUT WITH YOU I HAVE STARTED TO LIVE IT. 

LET’S LIVE FOR US AND FOR THE PEOPLE AROUND US AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE. BE KIND TO ONE ANOTHER. AFTER ALL 6 DEGREES IS BARELY A HUG AWAY. 

 

Leave a comment